Skip to main content

Our Staff

Office

Name Title Telephone    Email
Cori Ghaffari       Principal 423-4301 cghaffari@scusd.net
Sandy Machado Secretary 423-4310 smachado@scusd.net
Lilia Hernandez Clerical Assistant 423-4311 lhernandez@scusd.net

Kindergarten

Teacher Room    Telephone Email                                
Mary Blevins                     25       423-4375            mblevins@scusd.net
Rene Coleman 24 423-4374 rcoleman@scusd.net
Elena Dritsas 27 423-4377 edritsas@scusd.net

 

First Grade

Teacher Room   Telephone Email
Karol Advincula/
Tracy Thorson 
                
3 423-4353           kadvincula@scusd.net  /
tthorson@scusd.net 
Karin Chivers 4 423-4354 kchivers@scusd.net
Suzie Jochner 5 423-4355

sjochner@scusd.net

 

Second Grade

Teacher                          Room    Telephone Email
Heidi Murray             15     423-4365              hmurray@scusd.net
Kendall Schomberg 8 423-4362 kschomberg@scusd.net
Kiva Qualls   14 423-4369 kqualls@scusd.net

Third Grade

Teacher                          Room    Telephone Email
Jeff Cooper 18 423-4368 jcooper@scusd.net
Debbie Glines/
Joan DeWhitt
11
 
423-4361
 
dglines@scusd.net
jdewhitt@scusd.net
Monica Grandia/
Tina Rosenthal
16 423-4323 mgrandia@scusd.net
trosenthal@scusd.net

FOURTH GRADE

Teacher Room Telephone Email
Christa Ivancovich           20           423-4370            civancovich@scusd.net
Laura Rubio 19 423-4321 lrubio@scusd.net
Jeff Cooper 18 423-4368 jcooper@scusd.net

Fifth Grade

Teacher Room Telephone Email
Mark Harrington                17           423-4367            mharrington@scusd.net
Mike Jones 21 423-4371 mjones@scusd.net
       

Resource / SAI Staff

Name Room Telephone Email
Shea Bosworth 34          423-4344          sbosworth@scusd.net
Claudia Lopez 34 423-4345 clopez@scusd.net
       

 

PS Autism Program

Teacher                         Room Telephone Email
Sarina Mehmi 39             423-4346         smehmi@scusd.net
Miriam Nuno 36 423-4386 mnuno@scusd.net
Ashley Palmano 37 423-4317 apalmano@scusd.net
Adrienne Syth 44 423-4314 asyth@scusd.net
Daisy Serano-
Perez
41 423-4319 dserranoperez@scusd.net
Kiki Sandhu 42 423-4342 ksandhu@scusd.net

Additional Faculty & Support

Name Title Telephone Email
Rita Barone

Wellness Coordinator/Counseling

  rbarone@scusd.net
Karen Zell Librarian 423-4340 kzell@scusd.net
Cindy Hua ABA
Room 43
423-4387

chua@scusd.net

Karin Kimiecik Nurse
Office
423-4320 kkimiecik@scusd.net
Leano Lowella SLP
Room 35
423-4331 lleano@scusd.net
Namita Mauder Program Specialist 423-2054 nmauder@scusd.net 
       
Angela McMurray Bruen School Psychologist 423-4327 abruen@scusd.net
Joanne Cannard Speech
Room 22
423-4329 jkirby@scusd.net
Stephanie Bestul Extended Day Daycare
Room 29 & 30
423-4315 / 423-4316 sbestul@scusd.net
Katryna Dale  Cafeteria 423-4390 cnwestwood@scusd.net

PTA

Message Only 423-4398
westwoodptasc@gmail.com
staff_chalk.jpg

MEET OUR PRINCIPAL!

FullSizeRender.jpg
Dear Westwood families,

 

Welcome to the 2018-19 school year! As the start of school year approaches, I wanted to take the opportunity to introduce myself to our new families. Heading into my third year as principal, I continue to be honored and humbled to be a part of this amazing Westwood community! If we don't know each other already, I believe it is important that we get to know each other as soon as possible.

To tell you a little about myself, Santa Clara Unified has been my home for the last twenty-one years, where I have taught kindergarten through fifth grade. From 1997-2008, that home was here at Westwood! I left in 2008 to become the principal at George Mayne Elementary and served there for four years. I left in 2012 when my son was born and returned to teaching at Pomeroy Elementary. Now, I have come full-circle, returning to the home I love here at Westwood as your principal! I am a California native, a product of public schools in the bay area, and educated through our public universities both at UC Santa Cruz and San Jose State. My educational background is in Linguistics and I have always had an interest in travel, languages, and culture. I speak, read, and write Spanish (much better in person than on the phone, however). I am also a proud parent to a high school graduate (my step-son, Camren), a high school senior(my step-daughter, Jasmin), and an energetic first grader (my son, Kian). What an exciting journey!

I truly believe that the best schools are ones that have healthy communication and support at all levels. I cannot stress enough the role of the parent in your child’s education. We are a team; teachers, support staff, parents, and community. When we all work together for the good of our community, we can achieve great things. I truly feel blessed to be a part of this Westwood community and can't wait to partenr with you to make this an amazing year!

As a teacher, I always enjoyed the moment when a student would look up at me and say, “This isn’t learning. This is fun!” That’s the kind of attitude I hope to see all of our students have as we move into this new year at Westwood. It is my belief that high student achievement can be attained through fun, engaging activities that bring the learning alive and cause all students to enjoy all aspects of school. By keeping our expectations for all learners high, we can foster a love of learning that stays with every child throughout their school experience. I have always believed that “the higher the expectation, the higher the achievement.”

So, that’s me. I look forward to learning about you in the very near future. Classes begin Thursday, August 16th. Please remember to check in on this website site regularly throughout the year and please call the school with any concerns you might have 408-423-4300. I can always be reached through email as well (cghaffari@scusd.net). I look forward to seeing you at some of the many activities that are scheduled throughout the year, and thank you, again, for your support of Westwood Elementary School.

Sincerely,

Corinne Ghaffari, principal
Westwood Elementary School