About Westwood Registration
Our Staff
Library
PTA
Parent's Corner
Calendar
Helpful Links
Fun Zone
Community Involvement

Our Staff

Office

Name Title Telephone    Email
Cori Ghaffari       Principal 423-4301 cghaffari@scusd.net
Sandy Machado Secretary 423-4310 smachado@scusd.net
Lilia Hernandez Clerical Assistant 423-4311 lhernandez@scusd.net

Kindergarten

Teacher Room    Telephone Email                                
Mary Blevins                     25       423-4375            mblevins@scusd.net
Rene Coleman 24 423-4374 rcoleman@scusd.net
Elena Dritsas 27 423-4377 edritsas@scusd.net

Michael Santos

LinlinLiu

28 423-4378

msantos@scusd.net 

lliu@scusd.net

First Grade

Teacher Room   Telephone Email
Karol Advincula/
Tracy Thorson 
                
3 423-4353           kadvincula@scusd.net  /
tthorson@scusd.net 
Karin Chivers 4 423-4354 kchivers@scusd.net
Joan Clancy 5 423-4355

jclancy@scusd.net                

 

Second Grade

Teacher                          Room    Telephone Email
Heidi Murray             15     423-4365              hmurray@scusd.net
Kendall Schomberg 8 423-4362 kschomberg@scusd.net
Kiva Qualls   14 423-4369 kqualls@scusd.net

Third Grade

Teacher                          Room    Telephone Email
Lisa Post             13   423-4363               lpost@scusd.net
Debbie Glines/
Joan DeWhitt
11
 
423-4361
 
dglines@scusd.net
jdewhitt@scusd.net
Monica Grandia/
Tina Rosenthal
16 423-4323 mgrandia@scusd.net
trosenthal@scusd.net

FOURTH GRADE

Teacher Room Telephone Email
Christa Ivancovich           20           423-4370            civancovich@scusd.net
Laura Rubio 19 423-4321 lrubio@scusd.net
Jeff Cooper 18 423-4368 jcooper@scusd.net

Fifth Grade

Teacher Room Telephone Email
Mark Harrington                17           423-4367            mharrington@scusd.net
Mike Jones 21 423-4371 mjones@scusd.net
Suzie Jochner 12 423-4362 sjochner@scusd.net

Resource / SAI Staff

Name Room Telephone Email
Sheila Penuen 34          423-4344          spenuen@scusd.net
Claudia Lopez 34 423-4345 clopez@scusd.net
       

 

PS Autism Program

Teacher                         Room Telephone Email
Sarina Mehmi 39             423-4346         smehmi@scusd.net
Miriam Nuno 36 423-4386 mnuno@scusd.net
Ashley Palmano 37 423-4317 apalmano@scusd.net
Adrienne Syth 40 423-4314 asyth@scusd.net
Noreen Avgarski 41 423-4319 navgarski@scusd.net
Kiki Sandhu 42 423-4342 ksandhu@scusd.net

Additional Faculty & Support

Name Title Telephone Email
Mary Tabor

Wellness Coordinator/Counseling

423-4307 mtabor@scusd.net
Karen Zell Librarian 423-4340 kzell@scusd.net
Cindy Hua ABA
Room 43 & 44
423-4387

chua@scusd.net

Karin Kimiecik Nurse
Office
423-4320 kkimiecik@scusd.net
Leano Lowella SLP
Room 35
423-4331 lleano@scusd.net
Jennifer Carmona PS Program Specialist 423-2275 jcarmona@scusd.net 
Prabha Cheruvalath K-5 Program Specialist 423-2276 cprabha@scusd.net
Angela McMurray Bruen School Psychologist 423-4327 amcmurraybruen@scusd.net
Joanne Cannard Speech
Room 22
423-4329 jkirby@scusd.net
Stephanie Bestul Extended Day Daycare
Room 29 & 30
423-4315 / 423-4316 sbestul@scusd.net
Katrina  Cafeteria 423-4390 cnwestwood@scusd.net

PTA

Message Only 423-4398

westwoodpta@scusd.net

staff_chalk.jpg

MEET OUR PRINCIPAL!

FullSizeRender.jpg
Dear Westwood families,

 

Welcome to the 2016-17 school year! As the start of school approaches, I wanted to take the opportunity to introduce myself as the new principal of Westwood Elementary. I am truly honored and excited by the opportunity to rejoin the staff here at Westwood, and believe it is important that we get to know each other as soon as possible.

 

To tell you a little about myself, Santa Clara Unified has been my home for the last nineteen years, where I have taught kindergarten through fifth grade. From 1997-2008, that home was here at Westwood! I left in 2008 to become the principal at George Mayne Elementary and served there for four years. I left in 2012 when my son was born and returned to teaching at Pomeroy Elementary. Now, I have come full-circle, returning to the home I love here at Westwood as your principal! I am a California native, a product of public schools in the bay area, and educated through our public universities both at UC Santa Cruz and San Jose State. My educational background is in Linguistics and I have always had an interest in travel, languages, and culture. I speak, read, and write Spanish (much better in person than on the phone, however). I am also a proud parent to a recent high school graduate (my step-son, Camren), a high school sophomore (my step-daughter, Jasmin), and an energetic preschooler (my son, Kian). What an exciting journey!

 

I truly believe that the best schools are ones that have healthy communication and support at all levels. I cannot stress enough the role of the parent in your child’s education. We are a team; teachers, support staff, parents, and community. When we all work together for the good of our community, we can achieve great things. I look forward to getting reacquainted with this Westwood community and being a part of it.

 

As a teacher, I always enjoyed the moment when a student would look up at me and say, “This isn’t learning. This is fun!” That’s the kind of attitude I hope to see all of our students have as we move into this new year at Westwood. It is my belief that high student achievement can be attained through fun, engaging activities that bring the learning alive and cause all students to enjoy all aspects of school. By keeping our expectations for all learners high, we can foster a love of learning that stays with every child throughout their school experience. I have always believed that “the higher the expectation, the higher the achievement.”

 

So, that’s me. I look forward to learning about you in the very near future. Classes begin Wednesday, August 17th. Please remember to check in on this website site regularly throughout the year and please call the school with any concerns you might have 408-423-4300. I can always be reached through email as well (cghaffari@scusd.net). I look forward to seeing you at some of the many activities that are scheduled throughout the year, and thank you, again, for your support of Westwood Elementary School.

 

Sincerely,

 

Corinne Ghaffari, principal
Westwood Elementary School